Scholars

Name Areas of Interest Email
Abbie Anderson
Researcher 3, Program Coordinator: 'Cover It Up' and 'Pesky Plant Trackers'

Community science (also called citizen science), invasive plants, urban ecology, and education.

and04598@umn.edu
Raimundo Bermudez
Post-Doctoral Associate
bermu019@umn.edu
Ethan Butler
Researcher 5

Statistics, agriculture, functional ecology, adaptation to climate change, phenology, plant physiology, carbon cycle

 

eebutler@umn.edu
Stephan Carlson
Lecturer, Researcher 6

Outdoor recreation, environmental education, interpretation, trail design and youth development.

 

carls009@umn.edu
Ami Choi
Post-Doctoral Associate
choix667@umn.edu
Molly Codding
Researcher 5

environmental health, climate change, arboriculture, health and equity, ecological services

coddi011@umn.edu
Dean Current
Researcher 6, Director, Center for Integrated Natural Resource and Agricultural Management (CINRAM)

Natural resource-based sustainable development, community-based natural resource management/community forestry, agroforestry, market based conservation, economic and environmental impact assessment, multifunctional agriculture, payments for environmental/ecosystem services, biomass energy options.

curre002@umn.edu
Lucia Fitts Vargas
Postdoctoral Associate
fitts010@umn.edu
Lee Frelich
Researcher 6, Director of the Center for Forest Ecology

Boreal forests, climate change, earthworms, forest ecology, forest fires, windstorms

freli001@umn.edu
Jared Gottlieb jgottlie@umn.edu
Emily Green
Research Professional 1
gree0307@umn.edu
Dan Heins
Researcher 5 - Remote Sensing & Unmanned Systems

Remote Sensing & Unmanned Systems

hein0041@umn.edu
Andrew Jenks
Teaching Specialist

Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

ajenks@umn.edu
Meghan Klasic
Postdoctoral Associate

Environmental governance, politics, policy, and decision-making; social-ecological systems; urban sustainability; water resources; climate change; women and gender in the Arab world

klasi004@umn.edu
Joshua Kragthorpe
Researcher 5
jkragtho@umn.edu
Guopeng Liang
Postdoctoral Associate
liang910@umn.edu
Ryan Murphy
Researcher 5

Urban and Community Forestry

murph523@umn.edu
Byju Nambidiyattil Govindan
Researcher 6
ngbyju@umn.edu
Claudia Nanninga
Graduate Instructor
nanni003@umn.edu
Nick Neylon
Researcher 2
neylo005@umn.edu
Jane Nolan
Researcher Specialist
nolan338@umn.edu
Leif Olmanson
Researcher 6

Remote sensing of water resources

olman002@umn.edu
Keith Pelletier
Researcher 5
pelle155@umn.edu
Amit Pradhananga
Researcher 6

Human dimensions of natural resources and recreation management

prad0047@umn.edu
Monica Randazzo
Researcher 1

Urban and Community Forestry

randa318@umn.edu
Laura Reuling
Researcher 5

Applied forest ecology, silviculture, natural disturbance-based management

lreuling@umn.edu
Lucy Rose
Researcher 6

Forest hydrology and watershed management

larose@umn.edu
Sarah Roth
Researcher 3

Environmental outreach, conservation behavior and decision making, and specifically understanding the beliefs, drivers, and barriers associated with conservation action. 

fello067@umn.edu
Anirban Roy
Visiting Fulbright Scholar

Carbon biology, Climate change sciences, Forest policy and administration, Forest and grassland ecology, Restoration ecology

roya@umn.edu
Mike Schuster
Post-doctoral Associate

Forest and Grassland Ecology, Decomposition, Climate Change, Invasive Plant Species

schuster@umn.edu
Artur Stefanski
Researcher 5

Forest ecology, ecophysiology, phenology, invasive plant species, climate change, spectral detection of plant traits

stefa066@umn.edu
Jeffrey Suvada
Researcher 1
jmsuvada@umn.edu
Douglas Thompson
Lecturer
dpthomps@d.umn.edu
Alan Toczydlowski
Researcher 5

Wetland and forest soils, soil and watershed biogeochemistry, and geographic information systems.

toczy003@umn.edu
Kally Worm
Assistant Scientist: Cedar Creek Ecosystem Science Reserve

Field manager for BioCON project which examines the interactions among CO2, N, and diversity in a perennial grassland system.

wormx004@umn.edu
Peter Wragg
Post-doctoral Associate

Forest ecology, invasive buckthorn.

wragg004@umn.edu