Faculty

Name Areas of Interest Email
Chad Babcock
Assistant Professor

Remote Sensing, Forest Inventory, Geospatial Analysis, and Bayesian Statistics.

cbabcock@umn.edu
Charlie Blinn
Professor, Extension Specialist

Timber harvesting, forest roads, forest management, logging, loggers, timber harvesters.

 

cblinn@umn.edu
Paul Bolstad
Professor

Ecology, tree physiology, ecophysiology, silviculture, remote sensing, and geographic information systems.

 

pbolstad@umn.edu
Mae Davenport
Professor, Director-Center for Changing Landscapes

Human dimensions of natural resources and recreation management.

 

mdaven@umn.edu
Andrew David
Associate Professor, Director of Operations for the Cloquet Forestry Center and Hubachek Wilderness Research Centers

Forest genetics and tree improvement

adavid@umn.edu
Michael Dockry
Assistant Professor

American Indian and Indigenous Natural Resource Management, Tribal Partnerships, Integration of Traditional Ecological Knowledge and Western Ecological Knowledge, Strategic Foresight and Planning, Institutional Diversity, and Environmental History

mdockry@umn.edu
Chris Edgar
Research Assistant Professor

Measurements and biometrics

cedgar@umn.edu
Forrest Fleischman
Assistant Professor

Environmental politics, policy, governance, and decision-making; social-ecological systems; forest policy and administration; public management; public participation in democratic decision-making; 3rd world development, particularly India and Mexico.

ffleisch@umn.edu
Diana Karwan
Associate Professor

Hydrology, water science, and water quality.

dlkarwan@umn.edu
Mike Kilgore
Department Head and Professor, Director: Center for Environment & Natural Resource Policy

Natural Resources Economics, Policy, and Administration

mkilgore@umn.edu
Joe Knight
- Professor, - Director, Remote Sensing and Geospatial Analysis Laboratory, - Major Coordinator: Environmental Sciences, Policy, and Management

Geospatial Science: Remote Sensing and GIS

jknight@umn.edu
Rebecca Montgomery
Professor, Institute on the Environment (IonE) Fellow

Forest ecology, ecophysiology, tropical ecology

    rebeccam@umn.edu
    Kristen C Nelson
    Professor in the Department of Forest Resources, Professor in the Department of Fisheries, Wildlife, & Conservation Biology

    Governance of urban ecosystems, social drivers of homeowner and land manager vegetation management, beekeeper stewardship, and alternative futures for urban ecosystems.

    nelso468@umn.edu
    Eric North
    Assistant Professor of Urban & Community Forestry

    urban forestry, citizen science, tree biometrics, tree-rings analysis, arboriculture, tree biology

    nort0105@umn.edu
    Peter Reich
    Regents Professor, Distinguished McKnight University Professor, F.B. Hubachek, Sr. Chair in Forest Ecology and Tree Physiology

    Forests, grasslands, biology, ecology, climate change, and social justice.

    preich@umn.edu
    Matt Russell
    Associate Professor, Extension Specialist, Director of Graduate Studies, Natural Resources Science and Management (NRSM)

    Forest ecosystem health, forest analytics, and forest carbon.

    russellm@umn.edu
    Ingrid Schneider
    Professor

    Human dimensions of natural resource management, policy, and recreation management.

    ingridss@umn.edu
    Marcella Windmuller Campione
    Assistant Professor of Silviculture, Major Coordinator: Forest and Natural Resource Management

    Silviculture, Applied Forest Ecology, Adaptative Management, and Ecological Forestry.

    mwind@umn.edu
    John Zobel
    Assistant Professor

    Forest and natural resource biometrics, measurements and modeling

    jzobel@umn.edu