Faculty

Filter by Faculty category
Name Areas of Interest Email
Jean Albrecht
Librarian Emeritus

Forestry Librarian

jeanalbrecht@comcast.net
Alvin Alm
Professor Emeritus

Reforestation and site preparation techniques, Christmas tree culture

Abbie Anderson
Researcher 3, Program Coordinator: 'Cover It Up' and 'Pesky Plant Trackers'

Community science (also called citizen science), invasive plants, urban ecology, and education.

and04598@umn.edu
Dorothy Anderson
Professor Emeritus

Recreation resources management, policy and planning, environmental learning and leadership

dha@umn.edu
Brian Aukema
Adjunct Faculty

Landscape ecology of forest insects

bhaukema@umn.edu
Chad Babcock
Assistant Professor

Remote Sensing, Forest Inventory, Geospatial Analysis, and Bayesian Statistics.

cbabcock@umn.edu
Frederick Baker
Adjunct Faculty
fab384@gmail.com
Marvin Bauer
Professor Emeritus

Applications of digital remote sensing to inventory, monitoring, and analysis of land, vegetation, and water resources.

mbauer@umn.edu
Melvin Baughman
Professor Emeritus

Recreational trail design
 

baughman@umn.edu
David Bengston
Adjunct Faculty

Economics of technical change, research planning, management, and evaluation

david.bengston@usda.gov
Raimundo Bermudez
Post-Doctoral Associate
bermu019@umn.edu
Robert Blanchette
Adjunct Faculty

Forest pathology: Forest and shade tree diseases

robertb@umn.edu
Charlie Blinn
Professor, Extension Specialist

Forest management, harvesting, best management practices, economics, marketing

 

cblinn@umn.edu
Paul Bolstad
Professor

Ecology, tree physiology, ecophysiology, silviculture, remote sensing, and geographic information systems.

 

pbolstad@umn.edu
Leslie Brandt
Adjunct Faculty
lbrandt@fs.fed.us
Kenneth Brooks
Professor Emeritus

Hydrology—modeling impacts of forest land use on water resources
 

brook007@umn.edu
Thomas Burk
Professor Emeritus

Biometrics—forest growth modeling and experimental design

tburk@umn.edu
Ethan Butler
Researcher 5

Statistics, agriculture, functional ecology, adaptation to climate change, phenology, plant physiology, carbon cycle

 

eebutler@umn.edu
Stephan Carlson
Lecturer, Researcher 6

Outdoor recreation, environmental education, interpretation, trail design and youth development.

 

carls009@umn.edu
Jennifer Corcoran
Adjunct Faculty
Jennifer.corcoran@state.mn.us
Meredith Cornett
Adjunct Faculty
mcornett@tnc.org
Jason Crabtree
Researcher 5
crabtree@umn.edu
Thomas Crowther
Adjunct Faculty

Community ecology, ecosystem ecology, global change ecology

tom.crowther@usys.ethz.ch
Dean Current
Researcher 6, Director, Center for Integrated Natural Resource and Agricultural Management (CINRAM)

Natural resource-based sustainable development, community-based natural resource management/community forestry, agroforestry, market based conservation, economic and environmental impact assessment, multifunctional agriculture, payments for environmental/ecosystem services, biomass energy options.

curre002@umn.edu
Anthony D Amato
Adjunct Faculty

Silviculture

Anthony.DAmato@uvm.edu
Mae Davenport
Professor, Director-Center for Changing Landscapes

Human dimensions of natural resources and recreation management.

 

mdaven@umn.edu
Andrew David
Associate Professor, Director of Operations for the Cloquet Forestry Center and Hubachek Wilderness Research Centers

Forest genetics and tree improvement

adavid@umn.edu
Michael Dockry
Assistant Professor

American Indian and Indigenous Natural Resource Management, Tribal Partnerships, Integration of Traditional Ecological Knowledge and Western Ecological Knowledge, Strategic Foresight and Planning, Institutional Diversity, and Environmental History

mdockry@umn.edu
Grant Domke
Adjunct Faculty

Forest Inventory and Analysis

gmdomke@fs.fed.us
Karlyn Eckman
Adjunct Faculty

International forestry, agroforestry, water quality and watershed management 

eckma001@umn.edu
Chris Edgar
Research Assistant Professor

Measurements and biometrics

cedgar@umn.edu
Alan Ek
Professor Emeritus

Development of forest regeneration, growth, and change models for resource planning and long-term analysis of ecosystem trends; development of survey and monitoring designs for forest and related resources; forestry and related natural resources research including its funding, function, direction, conduct, and benefits.

aek@umn.edu
Paul Ellefson
Professor Emeritus

Policy and administration; Economics, management & planning

pellefso@umn.edu
Lisa Elliott
Post-doctoral Associate
harnx012@umn.edu
Forrest Fleischman
Assistant Professor

Environmental politics, policy, governance, and decision-making; social-ecological systems; forest policy and administration; public management; public participation in democratic decision-making; 3rd world development, particularly India and Mexico.

ffleisch@umn.edu
Lee Frelich
Researcher 6, Director The University of Minnesota Center for Forest Ecology, Institute on the Environment (IonE) Fellow

Climate change, wind and fire, deer and moose browsing, invasive species, earthworms

freli001@umn.edu
Hannah Friesen
Researcher 5
fries060@umn.edu
Chad Giblin
Researcher 5

Urban forestry outreach, research & Extension nursery

gibli002@umn.edu
Jared Gottlieb jgottlie@umn.edu
Emily Green
Research Professional 1
gree0307@umn.edu
Hans Gregersen
Professor Emeritus

Economics, management and planning; Policy and administration
 

hans@walk-about.net
David Grigal
Adjunct Faculty

Forest soils: Vegetation-soil relationships, nutrient cycling, land classification

dgrigal@umn.edu
Angela Gupta
Adjunct Faculty

Natural resource management and utilization

agupta@umn.edu
Mark Hansen
Adjunct Faculty
hanse034@gmail.com
Dan Heins
Researcher 5 - Remote Sensing & Unmanned Systems

Remote Sensing & Unmanned Systems

hein0041@umn.edu
Julie Hendrickson
Tree Improvement Specialist: Minnesota Tree Improvement Cooperative @ Cloquet Foresty Center
hendr065@umn.edu
Howard Hoganson
Professor

Management and economics: Timber supply analysis, harvest scheduling, operations research

Andrew Jenks
Researcher 5

Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

ajenks@umn.edu
Gary Johnson
Extension Professor Emeritus

Urban and community forestry, urban forest health, stress disorders (deicing salt damage), urbanized soils, diseases of trees and shrubs, risk assessment and management, tree preservation during construction activities, dysfunctional root systems (including stem girdling roots), and nursery tree production.

johns054@umn.edu
Diana Karwan
Associate Professor

Hydrology, water science, and water quality.

dlkarwan@umn.edu
Christel Kern
Adjunct Faculty
cckern@fs.fed.us
Mike Kilgore
Department Head and Professor, Director: Center for Environment & Natural Resource Policy

Natural Resources Economics, Policy, and Administration

mkilgore@umn.edu
Paul Klockow
Post-Doctoral Associate
pklockow@umn.edu
Joe Knight
Professor, Director, Remote Sensing and Geospatial Analysis Laboratory, Major Coordinator: Environmental Sciences, Policy, and Management

Geospatial Science: Remote Sensing and GIS

jknight@umn.edu
Randy Kolka
Adjunct Faculty

Soils and hydrology-landscape and riparian ecosystems.
 

rkolka@fs.fed.us
Joshua Kragthorpe
Researcher 5
jkragtho@umn.edu
Patrick Landisch
Researcher 5
land0397@umn.edu
David Lime
Senior Research Associate Emeritus

Recreation resources management
 

dwl@umn.edu
Zachary McEachran
Post-Doctoral Associate
mcea015@umn.edu
Ronald McRoberts
Adjunct Faculty

Nonlinear methods for forest growth modeling.

rmcroberts@fs.fed.us
Ronald McRoberts
Senior Fellow
mcrob001@umn.edu
Rebecca Montgomery
Professor, Institute on the Environment (IonE) Fellow

Forest ecology, ecophysiology, tropical ecology

    rebeccam@umn.edu
    Ryan Murphy
    Researcher 5

    Urban and Community Forestry

    murph523@umn.edu
    Linda Nagel
    Adjunct Faculty

    Forest & Rangeland Stewardship
     

    Linda.Nagel@colostate.edu
    Byju Nambidiyattil Govindan
    Researcher 6
    ngbyju@umn.edu
    Kristen C Nelson
    Professor in the Department of Forest Resources, Professor in the Department of Fisheries, Wildlife, & Conservation Biology

    Governance of urban ecosystems, social drivers of homeowner and land manager vegetation management, beekeeper stewardship, and alternative futures for urban ecosystems.

    nelso468@umn.edu
    Mark Nelson
    Adjunct Faculty
    mdnelson@fs.fed.us
    Eric North
    Lecturer
    nort0105@umn.edu
    Leif Olmanson
    Researcher 6

    Remote sensing of water resources

    olman002@umn.edu
    Brian Palik
    Adjunct Faculty

    Forest ecology

    bpalik@fs.fed.us
    Keith Pelletier
    Researcher 5
    pelle155@umn.edu
    Charles Perry
    Adjunct Faculty

    Forest soils, multiresource assessment

    charleshperry@fs.fed.us
    Emily Peters
    Adjunct Faculty

    Forest Ecologist; forest ecosystem ecology, forest management, policy and landscape planning

    emily.peters@state.mn.us
    Ann Pierce
    Adjunct Faculty
    ann.pierce@dnr.state.mn.us
    Amit Pradhananga
    Researcher 6

    Human dimensions of natural resources and recreation management

    prad0047@umn.edu
    Valquiria Quirino
    Researcher 5
    fquirino@umn.edu
    Monica Randazzo
    Researcher 1

    Urban and Community Forestry

    randa318@umn.edu
    Peter Reich
    Regents Professor, Distinguished McKnight University Professor, F.B. Hubachek, Sr. Chair in Forest Ecology and Tree Physiology

    Forests, grasslands, biology, ecology, climate change, and social justice.

    preich@umn.edu
    Jason Reinhardt
    Researcher 6

    Applied forest ecology and landscape ecology

    reinh215@umn.edu
    Laura Reuling
    Researcher 5

    Applied forest ecology, silviculture, natural disturbance-based management

    lreuling@umn.edu
    Claudia Rodriguez Solorzano
    Adjunct Faculty
    rodr0423@umn.edu
    Dietmar Rose
    Professor Emeritus

    Forest economics, management, and planning
     

    rosex003@umn.edu
    Lucy Rose
    Researcher 6

    Forest hydrology and watershed management

    larose@umn.edu
    Sarah Roth
    Researcher 3

    Environmental outreach, conservation behavior and decision making, and specifically understanding the beliefs, drivers, and barriers associated with conservation action. 

    fello067@umn.edu
    Matt Russell
    Associate Professor, Extension Specialist, Director of Graduate Studies, Natural Resources Science and Management (NRSM)

    Forest ecosystem health, forest analytics, and forest carbon.

    russellm@umn.edu
    Eli Sagor
    Adjunct Faculty, Extension Specialist

    Forest ecology and management

    esagor@umn.edu
    Ingrid Schneider
    Professor

    Human dimensions of natural resource management, policy, and recreation management.

    ingridss@umn.edu
    Mike Schuster
    Post-doctoral Associate

    Forest and Grassland Ecology, Decomposition, Climate Change, Invasive Plant Species

    schuster@umn.edu
    Stephen Sebestyen
    Adjunct Faculty
    ssebestyen@fs.fed.us
    Robert Slesak
    Adjunct Faculty

    Forests soils, applied forest ecology, forest management practices
     

    raslesak@umn.edu
    James Smith
    Adjunct Faculty

    Conservation biology

    smith017@umn.edu
    Stephanie Snyder
    Adjunct Faculty
    stephanie.a.snyder@usda.gov
    Susan Stafford
    Professor and Dean Emeritus

    Applied statistics, environmental science, policy and management; research information and data management, environmental leadership, frameworks for interdisciplinary research and education.

    stafford@umn.edu
    Artur Stefanski
    Researcher 5

    Forest ecology, ecophysiology

    stefa066@d.umn.edu
    Brian Sturtevant
    Adjunct Faculty
    bsturtevant@fs.fed.us
    Alan Toczydlowski
    Researcher 5

    Wetland and forest soils, soil and watershed biogeochemistry, and geographic information systems.

    toczy003@umn.edu
    Michael Tuma
    Researcher 3
    tumax919@umn.edu
    Molly Van Appledorn
    Adjunct Faculty
    mvanappledorn@usgs.gov
    Carl Vogt
    Extension Specialist Emeritus

    Conservation education, hardwood management, maple syrup, and Christmas trees.
     

    tectrees@aol.com
    Sonja Wilhelm Stanis
    Adjunct Faculty
    sonjaws@missouri.edu
    Laura Williams
    Post-doctoral Associate
    will3972@umn.edu
    Marcella Windmuller Campione
    Assistant Professor of Silviculture, Major Coordinator: Forest and Natural Resource Management

    Silviculture, Applied Forest Ecology, Adaptative Management, and Ecological Forestry.

    mwind@umn.edu
    Christopher Woodall
    Adjunct Faculty
    cwoodall@fs.fed.us
    Kally Worm
    Assistant Scientist: Cedar Creek Ecosystem Science Reserve

    Field manager for BioCON project which examines the interactions among CO2, N, and diversity in a perennial grassland system.

    wormx004@umn.edu
    Peter Wragg
    Post-doctoral Associate

    Forest ecology, invasive buckthorn.

    wragg004@umn.edu
    Kirk Wythers
    Researcher 5

    Spatial ecology, ecological simulation modeling

    kwythers@umn.edu
    Tao Zhang
    Researcher 6

    Ecosystem modeling and spatial analysis, forest dynamics, climate change, landscape ecology, remote sensing.

    zhan6705@umn.edu
    John Zobel
    Assistant Professor

    Forest and natural resource biometrics, measurements and modeling

    jzobel@umn.edu