Faculty

Name Areas of Interest Email
Jean Albrecht
Associate Professor/Librarian Emeritus

Forestry Librarian

jeanalbrecht@comcast.net
Alvin Alm
Professor Emeritus

Reforestation and site preparation techniques, Christmas tree culture

Dorothy Anderson
Professor Emeritus

Recreation resources management, policy and planning, environmental learning and leadership

dha@umn.edu
Brian Aukema
McKnight Land-Grant Professor of Entomology

Landscape ecology of forest insects

bhaukema@umn.edu
Chad Babcock
Assistant Professor

Frequentist and Bayesian geostatistical modeling, remote Sensing (including lidar and hyperspectral data).

cbabcock@umn.edu
Mike Bahe
Researcher 2

Urban Forestry

bahe0010@umn.edu
Frederick Baker
Emeritus Associate Professor
fab384@gmail.com
Marvin Bauer
Professor Emeritus

Applications of digital remote sensing to inventory, monitoring, and analysis of land, vegetation, and water resources.

mbauer@umn.edu
Melvin Baughman
Professor Emeritus

Recreational trail design
 

baughman@umn.edu
David Bengston
Principal Research Economist

Economics of technical change, research planning, management, and evaluation

david.bengston@usda.gov
Raimundo Bermudez
Post-Doctoral Associate
bermu019@umn.edu
Robert Blanchette
Professor of Plant Pathology

Forest pathology: Forest and shade tree diseases

robertb@umn.edu
Charlie Blinn
Professor, Extension Specialist

Forest management, harvesting, best management practices, economics, marketing

 

cblinn@umn.edu
Paul Bolstad
Professor

Ecology, tree physiology, ecophysiology, silviculture, remote sensing, and geographic information systems.

 

pbolstad@umn.edu
Leslie Brandt
Climate Change Specialist
lbrandt@fs.fed.us
Kenneth Brooks
Professor Emeritus

Hydrology—modeling impacts of forest land use on water resources
 

brook007@umn.edu
Thomas Burk
Professor Emeritus

Biometrics—forest growth modeling and experimental design

tburk@umn.edu
Ethan Butler
Post-doctoral Associate

Statistics, agriculture, functional ecology, adaptation to climate change, phenology, plant physiology, carbon cycle

 

eebutler@umn.edu
Stephan Carlson
Professor, Extension Educator

Outdoor recreation, environmental education, interpretation, trail design and youth development.

 

carls009@umn.edu
Jennifer Corcoran
Research Analyst Specialist, Remote Sensing Program Consultant
Jennifer.corcoran@state.mn.us
Meredith Cornett
Director of Conservation Science
mcornett@tnc.org
Thomas Crowther
Assistant Professor: ETH Zurich

Community ecology, ecosystem ecology, global change ecology

tom.crowther@usys.ethz.ch
Dean Current
Researcher 6, Director, Center for Integrated Natural Resource and Agricultural Management (CINRAM)

Natural resource-based sustainable development, community-based natural resource management/community forestry, agroforestry, market based conservation, economic and environmental impact assessment, multifunctional agriculture, payments for environmental/ecosystem services, biomass energy options.

curre002@umn.edu
Anthony D Amato
Associate Professor

Silviculture

Anthony.DAmato@uvm.edu
Mae Davenport
Professor, Director of Graduate Studies-Natural Resources Science and Management, Director-Center for Changing Landscapes

Human dimensions of natural resources and recreation management.

 

mdaven@umn.edu
Andrew David
Associate Professor, Director of Operations for the Cloquet Forestry Center and Hubachek Wilderness Research Centers

Forest genetics and tree improvement

adavid@umn.edu
Michael Dockry
Assistant Professor

American Indian and Indigenous Natural Resource Management, Tribal Partnerships, Integration of Traditional Ecological Knowledge and Western Ecological Knowledge, Strategic Foresight and Planning, Institutional Diversity, and Environmental History

mdockry@umn.edu
Grant Domke
Research Forester, Institute on the Environment (IonE) Fellow

Forest Inventory and Analysis

gmdomke@fs.fed.us
Karlyn Eckman
Adjunct Faculty: Forest Resources, Natural Resources Science and Management, and Water Resources Science

International forestry, agroforestry, water quality and watershed management 

eckma001@umn.edu
Chris Edgar
Research Assistant Professor

Measurements and biometrics

cedgar@umn.edu
Alan Ek
Professor Emeritus

Development of forest regeneration, growth, and change models for resource planning and long-term analysis of ecosystem trends; development of survey and monitoring designs for forest and related resources; forestry and related natural resources research including its funding, function, direction, conduct, and benefits.

aek@umn.edu
Paul Ellefson
Professor Emeritus

Policy and administration; Economics, management & planning

pellefso@umn.edu
Lisa Elliott
Post-doctoral Associate
harnx012@umn.edu
Jesse Engebretson
Post-doctoral Associate

Interdisciplinary Collaboration, Policy Implementation, Social Science Research Methods

enge0322@umn.edu
Forrest Fleischman
Assistant Professor

Environmental politics, policy, governance, and decision-making; social-ecological systems; forest policy and administration; public management; public participation in democratic decision-making; 3rd world development, particularly India and Mexico.

ffleisch@umn.edu
Lee Frelich
Researcher 6, Director The University of Minnesota Center for Forest Ecology, Institute on the Environment (IonE) Fellow

Climate change, wind and fire, deer and moose browsing, invasive species, earthworms

freli001@umn.edu
Hannah Friesen
Researcher 5
fries060@umn.edu
Chad Giblin
Researcher 5

Urban forestry outreach, research & Extension nursery

gibli002@umn.edu
Hans Gregersen
Professor Emeritus

Economics, management and planning; Policy and administration
 

hans@walk-about.net
David Grigal
Professor Emeritus of Soil Science

Forest soils: Vegetation-soil relationships, nutrient cycling, land classification

dgrigal@umn.edu
Angela Gupta
Regional Extension Educator

Natural resource management and utilization

agupta@umn.edu
Mark Hansen
Research Forester
hanse034@gmail.com
Dan Heins
Researcher 5 - Remote Sensing & Unmanned Systems

Remote Sensing & Unmanned Systems

hein0041@umn.edu
Julie Hendrickson
Tree Improvement Specialist: Minnesota Tree Improvement Cooperative @ Cloquet Foresty Center
hendr065@umn.edu
Howard Hoganson
Professor

Management and economics: Timber supply analysis, harvest scheduling, operations research

Andrew Jenks
Researcher 5

Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

ajenks@umn.edu
Gary Johnson
Extension Professor Emeritus

Urban and community forestry, urban forest health, stress disorders (deicing salt damage), urbanized soils, diseases of trees and shrubs, risk assessment and management, tree preservation during construction activities, dysfunctional root systems (including stem girdling roots), and nursery tree production.

johns054@umn.edu
Diana Karwan
Associate Professor, Institute on the Environment (IonE) Associate, Adjunct Assistant Professor Department of Soil, Water & Climate

Forest hydrology and watershed management

dlkarwan@umn.edu
Christel Kern
Research Forester
cckern@fs.fed.us
Mike Kilgore
Department Head and Professor, Director: Center for Environment & Natural Resource Policy

Natural Resources Economics, Policy, and Administration

mkilgore@umn.edu
Joe Knight
Professor, Director, Remote Sensing and Geospatial Analysis Laboratory, Director, Environmental Sciences, Policy, and Management

Geospatial Science: Remote Sensing and GIS

jknight@umn.edu
Randy Kolka
Project Leader

Soils and hydrology-landscape and riparian ecosystems.
 

rkolka@fs.fed.us
Patrick Landisch
Researcher 5
land0397@umn.edu
David Lime
Senior Research Associate Emeritus

Recreation resources management
 

dwl@umn.edu
Ronald McRoberts
Mathematical Statistician

Nonlinear methods for forest growth modeling.

rmcroberts@fs.fed.us
Rebecca Montgomery
Professor, Institute on the Environment (IonE) Fellow

Forest ecology, ecophysiology, tropical ecology

    rebeccam@umn.edu
    Ryan Murphy
    Researcher 5

    Urban and Community Forestry

    murph523@umn.edu
    Linda Nagel
    Professor and Department Head

    Forest & Rangeland Stewardship
     

    Linda.Nagel@colostate.edu
    Kristen Nelson
    Professor

    Environmental sociology, coupled human and natural systems, sustainable development

    nelso468@umn.edu
    Mark Nelson
    Research Forester
    mdnelson@fs.fed.us
    Leif Olmanson
    Researcher 6

    Remote sensing of water resources

    olman002@umn.edu
    Brian Palik
    Research Forester

    Forest ecology

    bpalik@fs.fed.us
    Keith Pelletier
    Researcher 5
    pelle155@umn.edu
    Charles Perry
    Research Soil Scientist

    Forest soils, multiresource assessment

    charleshperry@fs.fed.us
    Emily Peters
    Adjunct Assistant Professor

    Forest Ecologist; forest ecosystem ecology, forest management, policy and landscape planning

    emily.peters@state.mn.us
    Ann Pierce
    Supervisor, Conservation Management and Rare Resources Unit
    ann.pierce@dnr.state.mn.us
    Amit Pradhananga
    Researcher 6

    Human dimensions of natural resources and recreation management

    prad0047@umn.edu
    Monica Randazzo
    Researcher 1

    Urban and Community Forestry

    randa318@umn.edu
    Peter Reich
    Regents Professor, Distinguished McKnight University Professor, F.B. Hubachek, Sr. Chair in Forest Ecology and Tree Physiology, Resident Fellow, Institute on the Environment (IonE)

    Ecology, tree physiology, ecophysiology, silviculture

    preich@umn.edu
    Jason Reinhardt
    Researcher 6

    Applied forest ecology and landscape ecology

    reinh215@umn.edu
    Laura Reuling
    Researcher 5
    lreuling@umn.edu
    Claudia Rodriguez Solorzano
    Conservation and Climate Social Scientist
    rodr0423@umn.edu
    Dietmar Rose
    Professor Emeritus

    Forest economics, management, and planning
     

    rosex003@umn.edu
    Lucy Rose
    Researcher 6

    Forest hydrology and watershed management

    larose@umn.edu
    Sarah Roth
    Researcher 3

    Environmental outreach, conservation behavior and decision making, and specifically understanding the beliefs, drivers, and barriers associated with conservation action. 

    fello067@umn.edu
    Matt Russell
    Associate Professor, Extension Specialist

    Forest ecosystem health

    russellm@umn.edu
    Eli Sagor
    Extension Specialist

    Forest ecology and management

    esagor@umn.edu
    Ingrid Schneider
    Professor

    Parks, recreation and tourism management

    ingridss@umn.edu
    Mike Schuster
    Post-doctoral Associate

    Forest and Grassland Ecology, Decomposition, Climate Change, Invasive Plant Species

    schuster@umn.edu
    Stephen Sebestyen
    Research Hydrologist
    ssebestyen@fs.fed.us
    Robert Slesak
    Site-level Program Manager

    Forests soils, applied forest ecology, forest management practices
     

    raslesak@umn.edu
    James Smith
    Professor of Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology

    Conservation biology

    smith017@umn.edu
    Stephanie Snyder
    Operations research analyst
    Susan Stafford
    Professor and Dean Emerita

    Applied statistics, environmental science, policy and management; research information and data management, environmental leadership, frameworks for interdisciplinary research and education.

    stafford@umn.edu
    Artur Stefanski
    Researcher 5

    Forest ecology, ecophysiology

    stefa066@d.umn.edu
    Brian Sturtevant
    Research Ecologist
    bsturtevant@fs.fed.us
    Alan Toczydlowski
    Researcher 5

    Wetland and forest soils, soil and watershed biogeochemistry, and geographic information systems.

    toczy003@umn.edu
    Michael Tuma
    Researcher 3
    tumax919@umn.edu
    Molly Van Appledorn
    Ecologist
    mvanappledorn@usgs.gov
    Carl Vogt
    Extension Specialist Emeritus

    Conservation education, hardwood management, maple syrup, and Christmas trees.
     

    tectrees@aol.com
    Sonja Wilhelm Stanis
    Assistant Professor
    sonjaws@missouri.edu
    Laura Williams
    Post-doctoral Associate
    will3972@umn.edu
    Marcella Windmuller Campione
    Assistant Professor

    Silviculture and Applied Forest Ecology

    mwind@umn.edu
    Christopher Woodall cwoodall@fs.fed.us
    Kally Worm
    Assistant Scientist: Cedar Creek Ecosystem Science Reserve

    Field manager for BioCON project which examines the interactions among CO2, N, and diversity in a perennial grassland system.

    wormx004@umn.edu
    Peter Wragg
    Post-doctoral Associate

    Forest ecology, invasive buckthorn.

    wragg004@umn.edu
    Kirk Wythers
    Reseracher 5

    Spatial ecology, ecological simulation modeling

    kwythers@umn.edu
    Diomides Zamora
    Extension Professor of Environmental Science, Policy, and Management
    zamor015@umn.edu
    Tao Zhang
    Researcher 6

    Ecosystem modeling and spatial analysis, forest dynamics, climate change, landscape ecology, remote sensing.

    zhan6705@umn.edu
    John Zobel
    Assistant Professor

    Forest and natural resource biometrics, measurements and modeling

    jzobel@umn.edu